Love Languages

Josh and I have found that love languages are sooo important in a marriage. Everyone wants to feel loved in a marriage but you have to love your spouse in the right way. There are 5 love languages. Physical touch, words of affirmation, quality time, gifts, and acts of service. Right off the bat I’ll tell you mine and Josh’s. My biggest love languages are physical touch and quality time. Josh’s biggest love languages are quality time and acts of service. I absolutely love when Josh holds my hand, kisses me, and is spending time with me and giving me his full attention. Josh loves when I spend time with him and really focus in on just him. And he loves when I do things for him like get him snacks or run errands for him. These things make us feel the most loved that we can feel. We like all 5 love languages and its important to show each other all 5 but make sure to focus in on the top 1 or 2.

It’s also very important to make sure you are showing love the way your spouse receives it not the way you receive it. I can admit to making this mistake several times! I go up to Josh and hug and kiss on him and it makes me really happy and even though Josh might like it, it doesn’t mean the same as it does for me. He would rather me watch a video with him, play wiffle ball, or watch him play video games and talk. I have to remember that our love languages are different and I want to do what makes Josh feel the most loved. Just like Josh remembers that sometimes I’m not in the mood to watch videos and would rather go on a walk.

When we got engaged soon after that we started pre marital counseling. The guy we met with talked a lot about love languages and making sure to keep your spouses love tank full. I am very thankful we did pre marital counseling because it set us up with tools like this to have to best possible marriage. Our marriage is the most important thing to us and that’s why we work so hard on making it the best. So make sure to fill your spouses love tank up using their love languages!!


3 thoughts on “Love Languages

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s